Things That Go Bump In The Night

I had the strangest thing happen to me last night. I had had a rough day feeling slightly off and on the edge of an anxiety attack most of the day. I have been generally doing fairly well, and this was the worst I had felt in weeks. I couldn’t put my finger on the source, but was definitely teetering on the edge. With the insomnia problems I have been having I knew that bedtime was going to be a problem. I was up late watching the VP debate and some of the analysis after making it 11:30 before the light was out. Getting to bed late often contributes to the insomnia battle, but I settled in hoping for the best.

My wife and I chatted a bit after the light went out, but as the conversation slowed I could feel the unease settling onto me. This time it was heavy. The urge to flee began building and the sweat began to flow. I lay there and endured for what felt like a very long time. Suddenly I heard a snapping noise. It sounded like something had fallen on the air conditioner hanging out our bedroom window. I wanted to ask my wife if she heard it, but the heavy breathing from her side of the bed answered that question for me. It was then that I realized I was calm. It was over. I still am not sure if the noise I heard was real. I had some very strange imagery pass through my head, creepy ghost and demon like stuff, and while it was unsettling it didn’t affect my anxiety. That type of imagery isn’t something I have ever had float through my consciousness. I am not into fantasy and demons and such which make it all the more unusual. Then I slept. Not deep and peaceful, but not awake either.

One thought on “Things That Go Bump In The Night

Leave a Reply

