Getting it on Paper

Off and on over the years I have day dreamed of getting paid to write. I enjoy writing though I often lack inspiration. Back in my darkest days I wrote a little bit. It was all as dark as my mood and I never shared it with anyone until I found it by accident one day and posted it here and here. I played around with short fiction stories recently, but as a father, husband, and middle class worker bee there is little time for following my own pursuits. Truthfully the stuff I wrote wasn’t all that good anyway. My stuff always lacks the descriptive details, the things that convey the setting and mood in a way that actually puts the reader into the story. It is all mechanical and matter of fact, no real pizazz. I was once employed as a technical writer and I was good at that. I actually redesigned the entire menu of written reports my company provided its customers. They were concise, to the point, easily navigated, and well received. That remains my biggest accomplishment in writing.

This summer while on the water working with my father I was struck with a rare lightning bolt of inspiration for a magazine article. I had an idea but as is the norm, particularly in the summer, I had no time until today. Today I was off. It is the last day of my vacation and by accident became a day I had all to myself. I finally sat down and wrote. The topic and whatnot isn’t important, but what is is that I got the ideas all on paper. I had taken the time to outline the project a couple weeks ago and I have been thinking about it since late in the spring so it was pretty much written in my head which made actually giving a physical form much easier. Two hours, 1200 words, and draft one is complete. It’s a ways from actually being done, but the ideas are all out on paper. I have no idea the submission guidelines to the publications I have in mind so I will go search those out next and modify the content if required. I am somewhat concerned that it may be a little long for what they would use it for, but I think I can shave it down if I have to.

I think this is a really good idea. I really think it will sell in the market I have in mind, and I am pretty excited to have actually started down the path. It was nice to write with purpose. To actually have an idea and put something together that could be useful to others. I know I am a long way for done, but it has been a good day.

6 thoughts on “Getting it on Paper

  1. Good luck to you. You have managed to conquer the very thing I am far too scared to accomplish: Actually write the first draft of a book. I don’t know if its due to fear or perfectionism, but it just lays there in my mind, collecting dust.

  2. Congrats! What’re you writing about? Just curious.

    I have some writing deficiencies, too. I’m not very good at describing surroundings and such when I write stories . . . I think it’s because that bores me. And I feel like I can’t really be creative enough for it. Plus, when I read other books and stories, if there’s a long focus on description, I get bored. I much prefer reading thought processes and dialogue.

    • Its an article I plan to submit to some sailing magazines. I have reread it a couple times now, and it is rough. Time is always an issue for me, but I really need work on it some more soon.

Leave a Reply

